» » » » » » Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design
Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design - Second Edition
See larger image

GB-origamishoppicto-1450170896
Rating:stars_5  1 opinion

Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design

This new edition presents an innovative folding technique for origami Tessellations, easily accessible to all those who appreciate geometric paper folds.

Quantity : 
+
-
In stock

39.99 €

Facebook - Partager
qrcode

Books: Level of difficulty

Books: Language

description
Notice

Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design - Second Edition
 

This new edition of Six Simple Twists introduces an innovative pleat pattern technique for origami designs that is easily accessible to anyone who enjoys the geometry of paper. The book begins with six basic forms meant to ease the reader into the style, and then systematically scaffolds the instructions to build a strong understanding of the techniques, leading to instructions on a limitless number of patterns. It then describes a process of designing additional building blocks. At the end, what emerges is a fascinating artform that will enrich folders for many years. Unlike standard, project-based origami books, Six Simple Twists focuses on how to design, rather than construct.

In this thoroughly updated second edition, the book explores new techniques and example tessellations, with full-page images, and mathematical analysis of the patterns. A reader will, through practice, gain the ability to create still more complex and fascinating designs.

 

Key Features:

  • Introduces the reader to origami tessellations and demonstrates their place in the origami community
  • New layout and instructional approach restructure the book from the ground up
  • Addresses common tessellation questions, such as what types of paper are best to use, and how this artform rose in popularity
  • Teaches the reader how to grid a sheet of paper and the importance of the pre-creases
  • Gives the reader the ability to create and understand tessellations through scaffolded instruction
  • Includes exercises to test understanding
  • Introduces a new notation system for precisely describing pleat intersections
  • Analyzes pleat intersections mathematically using geometrically-focused models, including information about Brocard points

 

"Six Simple Twists is a gentle introduction to the vast, wide world of origami twist tessellations that brings the reader through the successive stages of folding, understanding, and, ultimately, designing origami geometric patterns based on the powerful hexagon grid system. The six twists of the title―interacting configurations of paper pleats―may be simple in isolation, but Parker shows how they can be combined in uncountable variety. Parker presents more than a bare plan; he gives tips and techniques, guidelines and hints, using standard origami notation where it is useful, but also introducing new notations (such as markings for mountain- and valley-like vertices) that aid both understanding and folding. Throughout the book are shown photographs of the author’s own beautiful tessellation creations: these serve to illustrate the concepts within the book and inspire the reader to her/his own inventions."
Dr. Robert J. Lang, Origami Artist and Consultant, LangOrigami.com

 

"Origami tessellation, a form of abstract geometric paper-folding, has been growing in popularity in the last 10 to 20 years but unlike more traditional forms of origami, it does not have a consistent system of diagramming or even a vocabulary of its own. In this book, Ben Parker addresses this problem. The interested novice will find important information to get started folding tessellations, from techniques for folding the grid, to the basic twist folds, to composing complex patterns of multiple twists.
The advanced folder will find a thoughtful approach to defining and describing the geometry of origami as revealed in tessellation. Whatever level of experience readers bring to this book, they will find something to challenge them. Six simple twists are only a starting point for Ben’s analysis of tessellation. Ben brings artistry and an analytic perspective to this subject, and provides much useful information and inspiration."
―Joel Cooper, Origami Artist


Product Details:
Paperback: 308 color pages
Language: English
Product Dimensions: 20 cm x 25 cm

 

Back to top
description
Notice

Reviews about this Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design (1 reviews)

stars_5 - Review added the Thursday 10 September 2020 by Mariana KKKKKKK
A fantastic addition to my library!
[Add your review]
Back to top
Shipping / Payment

 



Customers who bought Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design also bought :

» » » » » » Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design
Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design - Second Edition
Zoom

GB-origamishoppicto-1450170896
Note moyenne : stars_5  1 avis

Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design

Cette nouvelle édition présente une technique de pliage innovante pour les Tessellation en origami, facilement accessible à tous ceux qui apprécient les pliages géométriques en papier.

Quantité 
+
-
En stock

39.99 €

Facebook - Partager
qrcode

Livres : Difficulté

Livres : Langage

Livres : Thématique

Description
Notes et avis

Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design - Second Edition
 

Cette nouvelle édition de Six Simple Twists présente une technique innovante de pliage pour des Tessellations en origami, facilement accessible à tous ceux qui apprécient la géométrie du papier. Le livre commence par six formes de base destinées à faciliter l'apprentissage du style, puis étoffe systématiquement les instructions pour permettre une bonne compréhension des techniques, ce qui conduit à des instructions sur un nombre illimité de motifs. Il décrit ensuite un processus de conception de blocs de construction supplémentaires. À la fin, il en ressort une forme d'art fascinante qui enrichira les plieurs pendant de nombreuses années.

Contrairement aux livres d'origami standard, basés sur des projets, Six Simple Twists se concentre sur la façon de concevoir, plutôt que de construire.

Dans cette deuxième édition entièrement mise à jour, le livre explore de nouvelles techniques et des exemples de tessellations, avec des images pleine page, et une analyse mathématique des motifs. Le lecteur acquerra, par la pratique, la capacité de créer des dessins encore plus complexes et fascinants.

 

Caractéristiques principales :

 

  • Présente le concept de Tessellations en origami et démontre leur place dans la communauté de l'origami
  • Nouvelle mise en page et nouvelle approche pédagogique
  • Aborde des questions courantes sur la tessellation, telles que les types de papier à utiliser au mieux et la manière dont cette forme d'art a gagné en popularité
  • Enseigne au lecteur comment quadriller une feuille de papier et l'importance des pré-pliages
  • Donne au lecteur la possibilité de créer et de comprendre des tessellations grâce à une instruction pas à pas
  • Propose des exercices pour tester la compréhension
  • Introduit un nouveau système de notation pour décrire précisément les intersections des plis
  • Analyse mathématiquement les intersections des plis à l'aide de modèles géométriques, y compris des informations sur les points de Brocard

"Six Simple Twists" est une introduction douce au vaste monde des tessellations en origami qui amène le lecteur à travers les étapes successives du pliage, de la compréhension et, finalement, de la conception de motifs géométriques d'origami basés sur le puissant système de grille hexagonale. Parker montre comment elles peuvent être combinées dans une variété innombrable. Parker présente plus qu'un simple livre; il donne des conseils et des techniques, des directives et des astuces, en utilisant la notation standard de l'origami là où elle est utile, mais aussi en introduisant de nouvelles notations (comme le marquage des sommets des montagnes et des vallées) qui facilitent à la fois la compréhension et le pliage. Tout au long de l'ouvrage sont présentées des photographies des magnifiques Tessellations de l'auteur : elles servent à illustrer les concepts contenus dans le livre et à inspirer le lecteur de ses propres inventions".
Dr. Robert J. Lang, Origami Artist and Consultant, LangOrigami.com

 

"La tessellation en origami, une forme de pliage géométrique abstrait du papier, a gagné en popularité au cours des 10 à 20 dernières années, mais contrairement aux formes plus traditionnelles d'origami, elle ne dispose pas d'un système cohérent de diagrammes ni même d'un vocabulaire propre. Dans ce livre, Ben Parker aborde ce problème. Le novice intéressé y trouvera des informations importantes pour commencer à plier des tessellations, des techniques de pliage de la grille, aux plis de torsion de base, à la composition de motifs complexes de multiples torsions.
Le plieur avancé trouvera une approche réfléchie pour définir et décrire la géométrie de l'origami telle qu'elle se révèle dans la tessellation. Quel que soit le niveau d'expérience des lecteurs, ils trouveront dans ce livre quelque chose qui les mettra au défi. Ce livre n'est pas qu'un point de départ sur la tessellation. Ben apporte à ce sujet une perspective artistique et analytique, et fournit beaucoup d'informations utiles et d'inspiration".
―Joel Cooper, Origami Artist

 

 

Détails sur le produit :
Edition : 2021 Seconde Edition
Langue : Anglais
Nombre de pages : 308 pages couleurs
Format :
20 cm x 25 cm
Couverture : Souple
Retour en haut
Description
Notes et avis

Avis des internautes sur Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design (1 avis)

stars_5 - Posté le jeudi 10 septembre 2020 par Mariana KKKKKKK
A fantastic addition to my library!
[Ajouter votre commentaire]
Retour en haut

Les clients qui ont acheté Six Simple Twists: The Pleat Pattern Approach to Origami Tessellation Design ont aussi choisi